Home / About Pakistan / Government of Pakistan

Government of Pakistan


Country name: conventional long form: Islamic Republic of Pakistan
conventional short form: Pakistan
local long form: Jamhuryat Islami Pakistan
local short form: Pakistan
former: West Pakistan
Government type: federal republic
Capital: name: Islamabad
geographic coordinates: 33 41 N, 73 03 E
time difference: UTC+5 (10 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions: 4 provinces, 1 territory*, and 1 capital territory**; Balochistan, Federally Administered Tribal Areas*, Islamabad Capital Territory**, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (formerly North-West Frontier Province), Punjab, Sindh

note: the Pakistani-administered portion of the disputed Jammu and Kashmir region consists of two administrative entities: Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan

Independence: 14 August 1947 (from British India)
National holiday: Republic Day, 23 March (1956)
Constitution: 12 April 1973; suspended 5 July 1977, restored 30 December 1985; suspended 15 October 1999, restored in stages in 2002; amended 31 December 2003; suspended 3 November 2007; restored 15 December 2007; last amended 28 February 2012
Legal system: common law system with Islamic law influence
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal; note – there are joint electorates and reserved parliamentary seats for women and non-Muslims
Executive branch: chief of state: President Mamnoon HUSSAIN (since 9 September 2013)

head of government: Prime Minister Mohammad Nawaz SHARIF (since 5 June 2013)

cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president upon the advice of the prime minister (For more information visit the World Leaders website )

elections: president elected by secret ballot through an Electoral College comprising the members of the Senate, National Assembly, and provincial assemblies for a five-year term; election last held on 9 September 2013 (next to be held in 2018); prime minister selected by the National Assembly

election results: Mamnoon HUSSAIN elected president; Mamnoon HUSSAIN 432 votes, Wajihuddin AHMED 77 votes

Legislative branch: bicameral parliament or Majlis-e-Shoora consists of the Senate (104 seats; members indirectly elected by provincial assemblies and the territories’ representatives in the National Assembly to serve six-year terms; one half are elected every three years) and the National Assembly (342 seats; 272 members elected by popular vote; 60 seats reserved for women; 10 seats reserved for non-Muslims; members serve five-year terms)

elections: Senate – last held on 2 March 2012 (next to be held in March 2015); National Assembly – last held on 11 May 2013 (next to be held in 2018)

election results: Senate – percent of vote by party – NA; seats by party – PPPP 41, PML-N 14, ANP 12, JUI-F 7, MQM 7, PML-Q 5, BNP-A 4, NPP 1, PML-F 1, independents 12; National Assembly – percent of votes by party – NA; seats by party as of June 2013) – PML-N 126, PPPP 31, PTI 28, MQM 18, JUI-F 10, PML-F 5, other 22, independents 25, unfilled seats 7; 60 seats reserved for women, 10 seats reserved for non-Muslims

Judicial branch: highest court(s): Supreme Court of Pakistan (consists of the chief justice and 16 judges) judge selection and term of office: justices nominated by an 8-member Majlis-e-Shoora (parliamentary) Committee upon the recommendation of the Judicial Commission (a 9-member body of several judges and other judicial professionals), and appointed by the president of Pakistan; justices can serve until age 65

subordinate courts: High Courts; Federal Shariat Court; provincial and district civil and criminal courts; specialized courts for issues such as taxation, banking, customs, etc.

Political parties and leaders: Awami National Party or ANP [Asfandyar Wali KHAN] Balochistan National Party-Awami or BNP-A Balochistan National Party-Hayee Group or BNP-H [Dr. Hayee BALOCH] Balochistan National Party-Mengal or BNP-M Jamaat-i Islami or JI [Syed Munawar HASAN] Jamhoori Watan Party or JWP Jamiat Ahle Hadith or JAH [Sajid MIR] Jamiat-i Ulema-i Islam Fazl-ur Rehman or JUI-F [Fazl-ur REHMAN] Jamiat-i Ulema-i Islam Sami-ul HAQ or JUI-S [Sami ul-HAQ] Jamiat-i Ulema-i Pakistan or JUP [Abul Khair ZUBAIR] Millat-e-Jafferia [Allama Sajid NAQVI] Muttahida Qaumi Movement or MQM [Altaf HUSSAIN] National Peoples Party or NPP Pakhtun-khwa Milli Awami Party or PKMAP [Mahmood Khan ACHAKZAI] Pakistan Awami Tehrik or PAT [Tahir ul QADRI] Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid-i Azam or PML-Q [Chaudhry Shujaat HUSSAIN] Pakistan Muslim League-Functional or PML-F [Pir PAGARO] Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz or PML-N [Nawaz SHARIF] Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians or PPPP [Bilawal Bhutto ZARDARI, chairman; Asif Ali ZARDARI, co-chairman] Pakistan Peoples Party-S [Aftab Ahmad SHERPAO] Quami Watan Party or QWP [Aftab Ahmed Khan SHERPAO] Pakistan Tehrik-e Insaaf or PTI [Imran KHAN] note: political alliances in Pakistan can shift frequently
Political pressure groups and leaders: other: military (most important political force); ulema (clergy); landowners; industrialists; small merchants
International organization participation: ADB, ARF, ASEAN (dialogue partner), C, CICA, CP, D-8, ECO, FAO, G-11, G-24, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), LAIA (observer), MIGA, MINURSO, MONUSCO, NAM, OAS (observer), OIC, OPCW, PCA, SAARC, SACEP, SCO (observer), UN, UNAMID, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNISFA, UNMIL, UNMIT, UNOCI, UNSC (temporary), UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO
National symbol(s): star and crescent
National anthem: name: “Qaumi Tarana” (National Anthem)
lyrics/music: Abu-Al-Asar Hafeez JULLANDHURI/Ahmed Ghulamali CHAGLA

note: adopted 1954; the anthem is also known as “Pak sarzamin shad bad” (Blessed Be the Sacred Land)

Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission: Ambassador (acting) Asad KHAN
chancery: 3517 International Court, Washington, DC 20008
telephone: [1] (202) 243-6500
FAX: [1] (202) 686-1534
consulate(s) general: Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Sunnyvale (CA) consulate(s): Chicago, Houston
Diplomatic representation from the US:  

Lachief of mission: Ambassador Richard OLSON
embassy: Diplomatic Enclave, Ramna 5, Islamabad
mailing address: 8100 Islamabad Pl., Washington, DC 20521-8100
telephone: [92] (51) 208-0000
FAX: [92] (51) 227-6427
consulate(s) general: Karachi consulate(s): Lahore, Peshawar

Last updated: 18 oct 2014


Paki video Collection & Job ads